Event log data notification

Jun 29, 2012 at 12:28 AM
Edited Jun 29, 2012 at 12:30 AM

AS discussed have log parser data for a specific even log health check be sent to growl or as email notification.

Example: have a log parser health check use this command

logparser "SELECT EventID,Sourcename,Computername,TimeGenerated,Message FROM System WHERE EventTypeName='Error event'" -i:EVT

Lets say run every hour and send any errors either to growl or as email.I found this http://www.blat.net/ seems to be open source not sure how easy it would be to implement on the agent side.
I also found this http://mlichtenberg.wordpress.com/2011/02/03/log-parser-rocks-more-than-50-examples/on example 21 it creates a html file with the report, i think that could be adaptedand somehow be sent out using blat.
Im not a coder so just bouncing some ideas.

Jun 29, 2012 at 6:14 PM

I think i found the email solution http://gluegood.blogspot.ca/2009/05/freeware-logparseremail.html :D Maybe that would make it easier for you jimbobdog

Jul 4, 2012 at 8:13 PM

I have been doing some research on how to implement this in a easier way and it looks like powershell is the way, it even has its own built in send information through smtp, as well as the option to output data as a html template and so on, you can also do monitoring of azure, vm, servers and so on in a much easier way,

so ill think ill wait to see how your going to integrate the powershell module plugin for wolfpack, as long as i can tie the scripts into the scheduler in wolfpack and use sidewinder to push updates to them will make things incredibly easy to develop for.

Jul 9, 2012 at 2:41 PM