LogParser Health Check

Jul 30, 2012 at 7:20 PM

I'm new to the Wolfpack, but the development looks very encouraging from what I have read so far.   What I need to know is if I wanted to write a custom selects for LogParser health checks is there a generic health check I can use just plug in the entire select clause into?  From what I am seeing so far (like IISLogParserChecks), the "selct count(*)" is baked into a base-clase.

I just need to be able to configure a LogParser healthcheck and proivde the entire SQL statement in the configuration file.s 

Thanks,

Scott

Coordinator
Jul 30, 2012 at 11:07 PM

Hi Scott, welcome aboard!

So the original theory behind how the LogParser checks work was for it to simply provide a "trigger" for an alert rather then the full query output because 1) How do you transport all that data (lets say your query returned 5000 rows - is each one an alert?) and 2) once you know there is a problem from the alert you can come investigate -> hence the reason you can't nominate the "select * from" portion of the query because what it really wants is the rowcount.

Now, there are a couple of possible solutions...

1. If the number of rows is small and the data returned (columns) is small then with some slight restructuring of the base class code I would make it possible to 100% do whatever you wanted, change the select eg and then you just add the data to the alerts "Properties". 
  2. An alternative is again to restructure the base classes but this time allow you to configure the full query statement and then write the entire report to disk as an attachment - the email publisher would be modified to detect and automatically attach any attachment it found for the same "alert id". This would only really work if you used the email publisher - but remember you can set/enable any number of publishers.
  3. Finally you could roll a custom healthcheck and use some of the methods in the base classes right now - depends on how urgent you need this.